Follow me on BookBub “Facebook” “Pinterest” “Tumblr” “Twitter”

The Marching Band Emporium

The Marching Band Emporium by LA Davenport in eBook and Paperback
In a lost corner of London, just outside the East End, lies a faded bow-fronted shop.

No-one ever visits, but if you were to push open the creaking door and step over the piles of unwanted mail, you would find, in the dust-laden darkness, row upon row of shelves stuffed with trumpets, tubas, cornets, trombones, clarinets, drums.

Each time one of the instruments is played, it tells a story; a different story every time. This is The Marching Band Emporium.

Intriguing, though-provoking and occasionally dazzling, The Marching Band Emporium is a personal selection from the former blog of the same name.

By L. A. Davenport, author of the novels The Nucleus of Reality, or the Recollections of Thomas P– and Escape, the short story collections Dear Lucifer and Other Stories and No Way Home, and the memoir My Life as a Dog.
Out now on Amazon


In 2008, I started a blog called The Marching Band Emporium.

The idea was to publish a piece of writing, drawing or other such creation every day for a year. After more or less keeping up, I stopped at the end of the year, eventually deciding I wanted to do something with all those posts, or at least those that stood out. I therefore put together and then published this collection, originally in 2009 in a rather basic form, updated and polished it for republishing in 2012, and then finally gave it a makeover it in 2018, with a decent cover and a proper layout.

As it says on the blurb: Alongside a rich crop of drawings, mini sagas, poetry, short stories and a healthy dose of twisted logic, the curious reader will find the brand-new genre of Excerpts from Lost Novels, taking you into half-lit scenarios and mesmerising characters from imagined books.

You will be taken on a journey into a world populated by faded actors, late-night revellers, ancient goddesses, young lovers, pop stars on the comeback road, and many, many more.

In it, you can follow my tentative first steps as a writer, with early versions of what would go on to form part of the collections Dear Lucifer and Other Stories and No Way Home.
© L. A. Davenport 2017-2021.
Check out my latest book
Get The Nucleus of Reality by LA Davenport Now
The Marching Band Emporium | Pushing the Wave